Credit: JOSEP LAGO/AFP/Getty Images

La Masia 2015/16 - Eight records to remember

Share this article:

La Masia 2015/16 - Eight records to remember

La Masia completed another season with the youngsters breaking yet more records

Originally published in Spanish at the FC Barcelona website.

The league season has ended this past weekend for four Barça academy teams when Cadet A, Infantil A, Alevín A and Benjamin A have not only clinched their respective league title but have also impressed for their offensive game trademarked with the Barça DNA. These are eight outstanding facts about their championships worth to remember.

Cadet A eighth consecutive league title

Barça has been the dominant force in the Cadet Division. Since losing the league title on the 2007/08 season, Barcelona squads have chained eight consecutive championships with different coaches such as Víctor Sánchez (2008/09), Francisco Sánchez (2009/10), García Pimienta (2010/11), Quique Álvarez (2011/12, 2012/13, 2013/14 and 2014/15) and more recently Franc Artiga

Kun Temenuzhkov wins the Pichichi

The Bulgarian striker finished the Cadet Division Honor championship at top of the scorers table with 31 goals in 29 matches, for an average of 1.1 goals per game. Kun picked the baton of the culé Abel Ruiz who was the leading scorer last season with 21 goals.

Barça regains the Infantil crown

The Infantil A lost the league title last season ending up seven points behind their city arch-rivals RCD Espanyol who by then were trained by Carles Martínez. One year later, the tables turned since the culés now coached by Martínez won the championship with a 15-points lead over RCD Espanyol.

Pablo Moreno’s stratospheric numbers

Pablo Moreno, one of La Masia’s wonderkids ended up as the top scorer in the Infantil Division with the astonishing record of 70 goals (five of them from the penalty spot). He alone scored more goals than 12 of the teams in the category with an average of 2.3 goals per game. The last Infantil A player to clinch the Pichichi was the Korean Seung Woo Lee with 38 goals in the 2011/12 season.

Alevín A’s perfect season

Marc Serra’s squad has won the League Preferente Group 1 title win 30 victories in 30 played matches. This is the third consecutive league in which Marc Serra’s Alevín A team clinches the championship with an unblemished record. This season, in 16 of the 30 matches they have scored 10 or more goals proving their overwhelming dominance.

Marc Serra’s boys bag an eye-catching goal record

Marc Serra’s team was just two goals short of the 300. It would have been a nice record but the 298 scored goals are almost an unsurpassable amount for any Barcelona academy squad. Just between Aleix Garrido (41), Iker Almena (41) and Marc Jurado (40) have tallied up 122 goals. Jaw-dropping.

Benjamín A’s spotless championship

Jordi Pérez’ boys have won their 30 league games in a spectacular season, scoring 214 goals and conceding only 16. The Benjamín A team has been winning their Division title for six straight seasons.

Marc Guiu clinches the Pichichi

Benjamín A’s striker has finished this season with 47 goals in 26 played games with a 1.8 goals per game average, joining previous Benjamín A pichichis such as Iker Bravo, Pau Segarra and Marc Pelaz.

Anything wrong? Send your correction.

Source: FC Barcelona