Saturday night will mark the 198th Derbi Barceloní with the city’s supremacy on the line and Barcelona looking to consolidate its chances for a La Liga title. Throughout the derby’s history, there have been 16 players who have performed for both squads. We remember four of the greatest, who were both culés and periquitos during their career.

Ricardo Zamora

He was, perhaps, one of the first media-savvy star players in Spanish football. The award for La Liga’s best goalkeeper is named in his honor. Zamora, nicknamed “The Divine”, began playing for Espanyol in 1916 and helped the club win the Catalan Championship in 1918, before he transferred to the city rivals in 1919.

Playing for Barcelona, Zamora won two Spanish Cups (1920 and 1922) and three consecutive Catalan Championships (1919 to 1922) alongside club legends Josep Samitier and Paulino Alcántara. He then returned to Espanyol in 1922, helping the team win the Spanish Cup-Catalan Championship double in the 1928-29 season.

László Kubala

The mythical Hungarian footballer remembered for his great passing, dribbling and finishing abilities, was the cornerstone for the 1950s Barça team. During a span of 12 years with the club, he scored 194 goals in 256 appearances, winning four leagues and five Copa del Generalísimo (currently named Spanish Cup), among other titles. In his final years in La Liga, he played for three years for Espanyol, scoring seven goals in 29 appearances.

Zoltán Czibor

Member of the famous “Mighty Magyars”, Hungary’s national football team that amazed the world in the 1950s, he joined FC Barcelona in 1958 because of the persuasive Kubala. He played for Can Barça for three years, winning a Copa del Generalísimo-La Liga double in 1959 and a Fairs Cup-La Liga double in 1960. He subsequently moved to Espanyol playing there for two seasons, scoring two goals in 10 league appearances.

Javier Urruticoechea

“Urruti t’estimo (I love you Urruti)!” is one of the most celebrated phrases in Barça’s recent history. The keeper had just stopped a penalty kick on the last 1984/85 La Liga matchday, thus allowing Barcelona to win the title after 11 frustrating years.

The Basque goalkeeper played first for Espanyol from 1977 to 1981, winning the Don Balón award in 1981 as the Spanish Footballer of the Year. Afterwards, he moved to FC Barcelona, achieving one UEFA Cup (currently named Europa League), two Spanish Cups, two League Cups, one Spanish Super Cup and the aforementioned La Liga title, over a seven-year span with the club.

Anything wrong? Send your correction.